The 1934 Society

1934-societyVisionary leaders recognized the extraordinary features of the Smoky Mountains and championed the movement to create Great Smoky Mountains National Park in 1934. Today, Friends of the Smokies honors the distinguished group of donors who, year after year, help protect, preserve, and enhance this national treasure that belongs to us all.

We invite you to join today!

fall-stairs-by-sam-hobbsHow can I be part of the 1934 Society?

Friends of the Smokies makes it easy, offering a variety of ways to give. Gifts of $1,000 or more given on an annual basis qualify you to join the 1934 Society and enjoy its benefits.

Can I designate my gift to a Park need?

Of course! While undesignated annual gifts can be used anywhere they’re needed most, we can honor your wish to direct your annual fund contribution to the following program areas

  • Wildlife, Wonders & Wilderness: Provide support for wildlife management, defend against invasive insects, and sustain cutting-edge research.
  • Environmental Education: Strengthen programs like Parks As Classrooms, Junior Ranger, and Teachers-in-Parks providing hands-on environmental education.
  • Protect Historic Places: Restore hiking trails through Trails Forever and protect historic structures and artifacts.
  • Improve Visitor Experience: Create a lifetime of memories in a safe, welcoming national park.

Friends of Great Smoky Mountains National Park is the park’s primary fundraising partner each year, elevating improvement and education projects well beyond what the park would otherwise be able to do. The 1934 Society continues a legacy of stewardship and philanthropy. We hope you will consider joining many other park benefactors in supporting our work through a gift to our annual fund. Membership in The 1934 Society is extended to those making cumulative direct donations totaling $1,000 or more unrelated to special events tickets/purchases or endowments.

$1,000+          Mount Cammerer Level

• Exclusive 1934 Society Members’ appreciation gift
• Recognition in annual report
• Name listed as society member on website
• Name listing in 1934 Society annual publication
• Invitation for two to Annual Fireside Chat with Superintendent Cash (exclusive Society event)
• Includes all of the benefits of regular membership, with personalized cards and associated discounts

$1,934+          Mount Collins Level

• All benefits of Mount Cammerer Level, plus
• Friends of the Smokies staff member will give a presentation about Great Smoky Mountains National Park to your civic club or church group (upon mutually convenient date)

$2,500+          Mount Chapman Level

• All benefits of Mount Collins Level, plus
• Name & photo in 1934 Society annual publication

$5,000+          Mount Sterling Level

• All benefits of Mount Chapman Level, plus
• Listing on Friends of the Smokies’ donor wall at Sugarlands Visitors Center

$10,000+          Mount Kephart Level

• All benefits of Mount Sterling Level, plus
• Profile in 1934 Society annual publication
• Invitation for two to dine with Friends of the Smokies Board of Directors & Staff once a year

$25,000+          Mount Le Conte Level

• All benefits of Mount Kephart Level, plus
• Go behind-the-scenes with a ranger or Park-selected V.I.P. and FOTS staff member (Programming examples include: Spend a day at the Collections Preservation Center; learn all about the hemlock treatment program; get an in-depth look at Trails Forever; search for salamanders & learn about Park wildlife)


Bulls fighting in river by Chad TaylorThere is strength in numbers- many gifts add up to an important source of unrestricted funds that ensure Friends of the Smokies will remain a strong partner for Great Smoky Mountains National Park for decades to come. The society’s name hearkens back to the establishment of Great Smoky Mountains National Park and the community leaders who stood together in their vision of a strong, healthy destination beloved by millions of visitors each year.

Join today!